National cricket players honoured with Rs 500,000 cash

Kathmandu- The Nepali cricket team, the winner of one-day and T-20 international cricket series against UAE, has been awarded with cash.At a programme organized at the Ministry of Youth and Sports today, Sports Minister Jagat Bahadur Bishwokarma and Member-Secretary of the National Sports Council, Keshav Kumar Bista, honoured the players with Rs 500,000 each.Similarly, officials were honoured with Rs 200,000 each while main coach was honoured with Rs 300,000.

Nepal had won three one-day and T-20 series against UAE in February. Captain Paras Khadka, vice-captain Gyanendra Malla, Avinas Bohara, Basanta Regmi, Bhim Sarki, Binod Bhandari, Dipendra Singh Airee, Karan KC, Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi, Aarif Sheikh, Pawan Sarraf, Pradeep Airee, Rohit Kumar Poudel, Sandeep Lamichhane, Sompal Kami and Sandeep Jora were honoured with cash prize.
The government had on February 8 decided to honour cricket players with cash prize after winning the series. Saying the government took the decision to honour the players to encourage them, Sports Minister Bishwokarna said that the government was serious to provide more and more facilities to the players.

Similarly, the government has provided Rs 500,000 to gold medal winner of world body building championship, Maheshwor Maharjan. Maharjan had won the gold medal under 75 kg weight category in the 10th world body building championship held in Thailand in last December. Likewise, the government has provided additional Rs 300,000 to members of Nepali U-23 Football Team, gold medal winner of 12th South Asian Games held around three years ago.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.





State Assembly meeting put off

Anyone involved in public land grab in Baluwatar, Khula Manch be booked: Lawmakers