RSS to mark its 58th anniversary in all seven provinces

Kathmandu, Feb 16 : Rastriya Samachar Samiti (RSS), the national news agency, is organising programmes in all the seven provinces this February 19 on the occasion of its 58th anniversary. On the occasion, RSS will also award its reporters at the centre and in the provinces under the genres – best news, feature, photo and audio.

A meeting of the news agency’s Board of Directors chaired by its executive chairman Harihar Adhikari ‘Shyamal’ endorsed the names for the various awards recommended by the Award Selection Sub-committee coordinated by Deputy General manager Surendra Bahadur Nepali.

Those nominated for the Best Stringer Award are Suman Ghimire (Morang) from Province-1, Arun Kumar Yadav (Saptari) from Province-2, Krishna Ram Pariyar (Makwanpur) from Province-3, Laxmi Prasad Sapkota (Parbat) from Gandaki Province, Rita Lama (Dang) from Province-5, Dipendra Sharma (Surkhet) from Karnali Province, Ganga Raj Pandit (Bajura) from Sudur Paschim Province and Meena Ghorsaine (Kathmandu) from Kathmandu Valley.

Rabindra Kafle (Panchthar) from Province-1, Sanjeet Kumar Mandal (Mahottari) from Province-2, Aditya Dahal (Kathmandu) from Province-3, reporter Basudev Poudel and stringer Niraj Thakali from Gandaki Province have been named the winners of the ‘Best Feature’ award.

Similarly, Nabin Nepali (Dang) from Province-5, Upendra Neupane (Jumla) from Karnali Province, Narendra Singh Karki (Darchula) from the Sudur Paschim Province, reporters Ramesh Lamsal and CB Adhikari from Kathmandu, and sub-editor at the RSS English News Section, Pabitra Guragain (Kathmandu) are the nominees for Best Feature Award.

Santosh Kumar Sarki (Taplejung) from Province-1, Bijaya Kumar Mahato (Parsa) from Province-2, photojournalist Nabin Kumar Poudel (Kathmandu) from Province-3, Krishna Neupane (Tanahu) from Gandaki Province, Naresh KC (Rupandehi) from Province-5 and Dane Bohara (Humla) from Karnali Province are the winners of the ‘Best Photo’ award.

Likewise, senior reporter at the RSS central office Narayan Prasad Neupane (Kathmandu, Province-3) and stringer Sushila Regmi (Palpa, Province 5) have been nominated for the ‘Best Audio’ award.
The nomination for the awards have been made on the basis of the number of news filed by stringers and reporters, the news impact, quality, and geographical, caste/ethnic and gender representation.

RSS General Manger Opendra Sharma said from this year the different awards would be presented amidst the anniversary programmes to be organised in the provinces. The only state-owned news agency, RSS, was established on Fagun 7, 2018 BS (February 18, 1962). It has been providing news (Nepali, English and International), feature, photo, audio services to its subscribers.(RSS)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.





Let us work in unison for development, prosperity: NCP Chairman Dahal

SAARC Tuberculosis and HIV/AIDS meeting on May 2-3